top of page
Search

Confessions of a Workaholic: Do You Love Your Laptop More than You Love Your Pillow?

Let's be honest: how many times have you fallen asleep at your work desk, laptop or computer? How often do you refuse to go to bed in spite of your saggy, droopy and tired eyes?


Let me be the first to say, I am definitely guilty of trying to work through the night, despite being in full zombie-mode. So it's okay, you can admit it. It happens to the best of us.


But, Why on Earth do we do this?

I'm no psychologist but if I had to diagnose myself and my fellow workaholics, I would say we're all suffering from a severe case of denial. You and I, my friend, are human! We are not computers. Our bodies need rest, and our brains will shut down whether we want them to or not.


So I think it's time for us to accept the fact that...it can wait. Whatever it is, whatever that seemingly urgent task or project is, trust me it can wait. Once again, I'm no psychologist or neurologist but believe me when I say this... your sanity is 100% connected to your schedule, especially your sleep schedule. Don't believe me? Just ask the people around you!


Here's a Tip: Shut it Down


Yes, shut it down, and by "it" I mean your computer, laptop, tablet or work station. Pick a time and power down. Even if you think it's not realistic. Just pick a time and stick to it. Even if you only shut it down for an hour. Make a habit of doing this every day and see how you feel.


Here’s how to do it:

  1. Save your work.

  2. Log out of all your accounts.

  3. Close your web browser.

  4. Close any open software applications.

  5. Shut down your computer and walk away.

You can do it! (Right after you finish reading this blog post!) 😄

Easier said than done right? I know! so here's my next question: Is your desire to overwork being driven by feelings of guilt or inadequacy? Are you trying to escape or avoid something in your life? (I know that's pretty deep for someone whose not a psychologist.)


But Seriously Ask Yourself: "What is driving my behavior?"


There's always an underlying reason for everything that we do, and it isn't always a healthy one. Working from home has it's benefits, and it also comes with its fair share of challenges. But honestly, (for some of us) burying ourselves in work to escape life isn't necessarily a new habit that we developed as a result of the pandemic.


When I stay up late, I eat more (junk food), I feel more anxious and less confident in my ability to handle the day ahead. So I started making the decision to shut it down early (well "earlier").


Each and every person and situation is different so we all must look ourselves in the mirror and decide what we really want out of life, and whether or not our actions are producing the kind of results we want to see.


Each and Every day I'm Striving to Become a Better Me!


Who am I? (I'm So Glad You Asked)




I help entrepreneurs take care of the tech side of their business so they can do less, focus more on what they do best, (and get more rest). Yes, I like to rhyme - I'm also a children's book author.






bottom of page